Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving!

November 23, 2011

Every year, at our house, whenever family and friends are gathered at the table, we go around the circle or rectangle and ask people to tell us all what they are most grateful for. So, as an industry, for those of you who read this blog, maybe you could add to the gratitude list I am working on! Send in your own messages of gratitude and I can post them. For me:

I am grateful for the health of my family, and for my own health as well.

I am grateful for good friends, both personal and in the wider interior design community across this fascinating planet.

I am grateful for 38 years of steady employment, 37 years of marriage, 34 years of parent-hood, 27 years without a cigarette, and “an attitude of gratitude”.

I am grateful that so many of our clients and my friends and acquaintances are recovering from the “Stay-Cession” that still sits over us like pollution, and are finding ways to adapt, survive, and even thrive amid the endless drumbeat of bad news.

I wish you all a thankful Thanksgiving. Hug someone! Do something nice for someone else and don’t tell them! I will try to do the same.

Let me close with a message from Ralph Waldo Emerson via our good friends Marvin Wilkinson and Arthur Ellsworth-\

For each new morning with its light,

For rest and shelter of the night,

For health and food, for love and friends,

For everything Thy goodness sends.

~Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Pam Plowden permalink
    November 23, 2011 4:52 pm

    Ok. I will give it a go. I am grateful to be sitting in my sister’s kitchen while she cooks and listening to her grandson laughing in the next room. Grateful to be reciting our deceased mother’s sacred dressing recipe to her-worn and tattered, but in her handwriting. It is a treasure to us. Enjoying the smell of cooking celery and sage. The holidays are upon us.

    I am grateful for starting life over at 53. Reconnecting with some old friends and enjoying new ones, like you Crans.

    Grateful to be in business with a group of phenomenal women and for a business that is celebrating its 50th year. We have weathered more than a few recessions and know we will be fine.Grateful to be successful at something that I love and would do for free. Seriously.

    Grateful that someone asked the question. I am blessed.

Leave a Reply

